• Chengdu, formerly romanized as Chengtu, is the provincial capital of Sichuan province in Southwest China, as well as a major city in Western China.
  • The administrative area houses 14,047,625 inhabitants: 7,415,590 within the municipality's nine urban districts and 6,632,035 in the surrounding satellite towns and counties' urban, suburb and rural area.
  • According to the 2010 census, Chengdu is the fifth most populous city in China.
  • Chengdu is one of the most important economic, finance, commerce, culture, transportation, and communication centers in Western China.
  • Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport is one of the top 40 busiest airports in the world, and Chengdu Railway Station is one of the six biggest railway stations in China.
  • Chengdu is a sub-provincial city. It has direct jurisdiction over 9 districts, 4 county-level cities and 6 counties.
  • The mayor of Chengdu is Tang Liangzhi.