Information About Mitte District

Mitte is the first and most central borough of Berlin.
Mitte encompasses Berlin's historic core and includes some of the most important tourist sites of Berlin like Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate, Unter den Linden, Potsdamer Platz, the Reichstag and Berlin Hauptbahnhof, most of which were in former East Berlin.
Mitte (German for "middle", "centre") is located in the centre of Berlin along the Spree River. It borders on Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf in the west, Reinickendorf in the north, Pankow in the east, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg in the southeast, and Tempelhof-Schöneberg in the southwest.
The former Mitte district had been established by the 1920 Greater Berlin Act and comprised large parts of the historic city around Alt-Berlin and Cölln. Brandenburg Gate was the western exit at the Berlin city boundary until 1861.
The present-day borough of Mitte consists of six localities: Mitte (the former Mitte borough),Moabit,Hansaviertel,Tiergarten(the former Tiergarten borough),Wedding,Gesundbrunnen(the former Wedding borough).
Total area is 39.47 km2.
Total population is 332,919.
The current Mayor is Christian Hanke.

Mitte became the twin town of Beyoğlu on the 7th October 2008.

Photo Gallery